Building Permit needed for install antennas on water tower?

Kick back and hang out in the lounge and talk about almost anything.
TheHox
Experienced Member

Building Permit needed for install antennas on water tower?

Thu Jul 23, 2015 10:59 am

I'm still working on this water tower deal I have been pursuing for almost 2 years.. Contract done and signed (basic terms) payment made for the first year almost a month ago. I got to use an old Nextel hut, power turned on in our name almost good to go.

When I went to turn the power on at the old nextel hut, I had to pull a permit and get it inspected as it was sitting for over a year. The inspector came out and said he also wants to see my plans for the water tower. I sent him some plans, and now he is telling me to go file and pay for a building permit.

Do I really need a building permit? I am not installing any new mounts, pipes, stand offs, nothing. Everything I need is already there, just running wire and attaching ubnt antennas to the existing poles.

Not sure if if I try and push them back on asking for a permit, or just give in and do it.

rebelwireless
Experienced Member

Re: Building Permit needed for install antennas on water tow

Thu Jul 23, 2015 11:28 pm

seems EXTREMELY unlikely that you need a building permit, you arent building anything much less a permanent structure.

TheHox
Experienced Member

Fri Jul 24, 2015 4:39 am

I've asked a few people in this industry and they have all said the same thing.. Seems odd.
I am asking for clarification on the issue. Almost seems as if it is just the city's inspector grabbing at money to keep himself involved in something he doesn't need to be.

Wifimax

Fri Jul 24, 2015 9:47 am

I have never ever had to pull a permit for a water tower.... Sounds like the inspector wants to be a PITA :P

rkelly1
Experienced Member

Sun Jul 26, 2015 4:23 pm

never needed a permit for a water tower here. push back nicely and see what happens.

sirhc
Employee
Employee